Research Core Dataset
German Council of Science and Humanities Fraunhofer FIT
 
 
Home Deutsche Version
 
 
 
 
Unbenanntes Dokument

Implementation

The recommendations on the specification of a research core dataset by the German Council of Science and Humanities distinguished between four different tasks to be addressed in the context of the working groups: Definitions and data formats, Bibliometrics, Technics and interfaces and Subject classification. For this reason, the project work was carried out in four different working groups. The project management coordinates and supervises the working groups.

The working groups started off with the identification of existing data sources and definitions to be integrated into the standardisation process. With respect to the definitions this concerned existing specifications in the Frascati Manual as well as those used by CERIF, the Federal Statistical Office and by universities or research institutions. The concepts of interest had already been defined in the recommendations on the specification of a research core dataset. They were centred on (scientific and non-scientific) personnel, young researchers, third-party funding and projects, research prizes and awards, patents as well as publications. The full list of the concepts of interest as well as further explanations can be found in the recommendations on the specification of a research core dataset (2013). With respect to the data sources the project examined existing databases of the German Research Foundation (DFG – Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD – Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF – Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung), the European Union (EU) and the Federal Statistical Office (Destatis – Statistisches Bundesamt) as well as research data gathered by universities and research institutions.

In April 2015, the first release of the specification (alpha release) was submitted to the advisory board of the project. The advisory board critically assessed the project results and discussed modifications. These changes were incorporated in beta release of the Research Core Dataset.

The beta release of the Research Core Dataset was made publicly available between June 2015 and August 2015. During that time, interested stakeholders and representatives of the German science system were offered the possibility to inform themselves about the contents and definitions of the Research Core Dataset and to comment on different aspects of the specification.

In this context, the project representatives also organised a forum to present and discuss the results of the standardisation project. The RCD Forum, which took place on 27 July 2015, offered interested stakeholders the possibility to discuss key aspects of the specification and potential areas of application. Participants were informed about the state of play of the project as well as the results, contents and definitions of the Research Core Dataset.

The comments to the beta release were incorporated in the first release (release 1.0) of the Research Core Dataset. More than a 100 stakeholders and organisations of the German science system submitted a total of 1,820 comments (targeting different elements of the specification). In September 2015, the advisory board agreed on changes to 149 elements of the specification.

Spezifikation Kerndatensatz Forschung
Wissenschaftsrat Fraunhofer FIT
 
 
Zur Startseite English version
 
 
 
 
Unbenanntes Dokument

Umsetzung

In den Empfehlungen des Wissenschaftsrates zur Schaffung eines Kerndatensatz Forschung wurden vier inhaltliche Aufgabenblöcke identifiziert: Definitionen und Datenformate, Bibliometrie, Technik und Schnittstellen und Fächerklassifikation. Die Bearbeitung dieser Blöcke erfolgt in vier Projektgruppen und wurde durch das Projektmanagement koordiniert und geleitet.

Grundlagen des Standardisierungsprozesses waren bestehende Datenquellen und Definitionen, die eingangs innerhalb der Projektgruppen erhoben werden. Auf Seiten der Definitionen wurden dabei insbesondere bestehende Festlegungen im Frascati Handbuch, der CERIF-Spezifikation, des Statistischen Bundesamts und der Hochschulen zugrunde gelegt. Die zu definierenden Inhalte wurden in den Empfehlungen für einen Kerndatensatz Forschung bereits identifiziert und umfassen die Bereiche Beschäftigte, Nachwuchsförderung, Drittmittel und Projekte, Forschungspreise und Auszeichnungen, Patente und Publikationen. Die vollständige Liste sowie Gründe für die Berücksichtigung der Inhalte finden sich in den Empfehlungen zu einem Kerndatensatz Forschung (2013). Auf Seiten der Datenquellen waren insbesondere Quellen der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD), des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), der Europäischen Union (EU), des statistischen Bundesamts (Destatis) und den Hochschulen auf Einbindbarkeit zu prüfen.

Die Ergebnisse des Projektes wurden Anfang April 2015 als Alpha-Version der Spezifikation des Kerndatensatz Forschung dem Beirat des Projekts (Arbeitsgruppe beim Wissenschaftsrat) zugeleitet. Dieser hat den Vorschlag im Zuge einer "Abnahme" geprüft. Auf dieser Grundlage wurde die Beta-Version des Kerndatensatz Forschung erarbeitet.

Zwischen dem 08. Juni und 02. August 2015 war die Beta-Version des Kerndatensatz Forschung öffentlich verfügbar. Für die interessierte Fachöffentlichkeit bestand während dieser Zeit die Gelegenheit, die Vorschläge für die Inhalte des Kerndatensatz Forschung vor Erstellung der ersten Version des Kerndatensatz Forschung einzusehen und zu kommentieren.

Darüber hinaus präsentierte das Projekt am 27. Juli 2015 im Rahmen des Forums "Kerndatensatz Forschung" den Stand der Ergebnisse. Das Forum bot Gesprächsmöglichkeit zu Schwerpunkten der Spezifikation sowie zu Nutzungsmöglichkeiten des Kerndatensatz Forschung. Es fand ein vertiefter und konstruktiver Austausch mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems zu den Inhalten und Elementen der Spezifikation statt.

Die im Rahmen der Rückmeldephase eingegangenen Rückmeldungen flossen im Anschluss in die Erstellung der Version 1.0 des Kerndatensatz Forschung ein. An dem Kommentierungsprozess beteiligten sich mehr als 100 Akteure oder Einrichtungen des Wissenschaftssystems mit insgesamt 1820 elementspezifischen Rückmeldungen. Der Beirat entschied im September 2015 im Zuge seiner Beratungen über Anpassungen an 149 Elementen der Spezifikation.